Paris Marathon Training Log: Tempo Run, January 10 2018

I’ve been very whiny about my last few training runs, but not today! I killed—no, I mass murdered à la 300—this workout. It was a tempo run geared toward my Miami half-marathon PR of under 2 hours so I set off with the intention of averaging a 9:10 min/mi. I finished feeling strong at an average pace of 9:04 min/mi. The doubts following Sunday’s long run about my inability to reach my goal at the end of this month have been swiftly eradicated.

My tempo runs usually take me on the Venetian Causeway because the distance between Margaret Pace Park and my apartment is exactly 6 miles. Also, have you seen the view at sunrise and sunset from the bridges? It is the absolute best motivation for getting out there. This evening’s sunset was particularly killer and coupled with music like Hunter by Galantis set the right ambiance for beast mode.

Margarita-Wells-Running-Blog-Venetian-Causeway-Paris-Marathon-Training-January-10-2018

There’s not much more to share about today’s run other than I had trouble controlling my pace because I felt so good the entire time. Luckily, I learned from Sunday’s mistake of taking off too fast and made it a priority. It’s the only reason I was able to increasingly up my pace from 9:47 min/mi on mile 1 to an 8:28 min/mi pace on mile 6. Also, I made sure to drink water every 1/2 mile. Whatever made the difference, I am so glad today went well.

P.S. A lot of you requested that I start including what gear, music, and other variables are going into each training sesh in these posts so I’ve added a new section below the stats where I share these details. Keep an eye out for this section in future training logs and let me know in the comments or on twitter what other details you want me to include!

Margarita-Wells-Running-Blog-Paris-Marathon-Training-January-10-2018

Gear: Brooks Glycerin 15 running shoes, Garmin Forerunner 920XT watch, Amphipod running belt (similar here), Beats Studio 2 wireless headphones

Playlist: My “Night Skiing” playlist on Spotify

Leave a comment